New Year. New Goals.

2016 was full of so many wonderful events and memories!  It started off with our engagement.  Then wedding planning was in full force because it was all planned in six months!  There were wedding showers, birthdays, bachelorette parties, a honeymoon to the Dominican Republic, moving in to our first place, summer break, Ole Miss football games, girl’s nights, friend’s dinner nights, best friend’s wedding, and celebrating our first married holidays.  2016 is going to be hard to top, but I know that 2017 is going to be filled with so many awesome memories waiting to be made!

So I’m not super big on the resolution making.  I’m probably like the majority of folks who make them and don’t end up sticking to them.  My favorite one I try to say every year is i’m going to wake up earlier so I’m not rushed every morning.  Yes, every morning I’m rushed because I don’t want to get out of bed.  But in the last 9 yeas since I graduated that resolution just hasn’t stuck.  But hey, I can always keep trying. 🙂

So my first goal of 2017 is… To read more.  I have a goal of reading one book a month.  I read so many blogs and several read multiple books a month.  I decided to start small and stick with one book for now and hopefully it turns into more than that!  I LOVE reading!  I always have since I was a kid!  I would join the summer reading programs at the library just because I loved to read and go check out books!  #nerdalert

I hope to accomplish this goal by putting the phone down at night.  When i get in bed, instead of mindlessly scrolling through social media feeds, I am going to pick up a book!  Over the Christmas break I went to visit family in Franklin, TN.  We visited some Civil War battlefield sites.  I love history too!  So my first book is The Widow of the South.  We visited the home and battlefield site of the setting of this book.  I picked this up in the gift shop after our tour guide mentioned it.  I will let you know how it goes!

new-year-blog

 

My second goal also has to do with reading but it’s a little different.  I want to read a nightly devotional and pray together with my husband.  This is so important to me!  Our spiritual life is the foundation we need to build our relationship on.  It’s also a way to gain insight on issues that we may know about it if we weren’t sharing with each other in prayer time.  I want to be a better example and light for my husband.  I want him to see Christ through me daily!  I picked up a simple devotional by Max Lucado called God is With You Everyday.

new-year-blog-2

Those were really my two goals I came up with for 2017.  Other things I want to focus on being better at… Meal planning and budgeting.  I do try to meal plan weekly.  I feel like I can do better at this and keep our cost even below what I like to budget.

I want to focus on being home more and building on relationships that matter.  I have enjoyed making our place home.  I have created what I believe is a cozy space for us!  And I love being here.  Sure I like to go out and eat with friends or go to a concert or game and I can’t give up my girl’s night out every now and then, but I want to learn to be okay with being at home.  It will save us money and helps us slow down and focus on what is important.  We have major goals we want to accomplish like buying land by the end of the year.  We want to build a house on that land one day.  We will have to make some financial sacrifices to accomplish what we want long term.

Also I know I’m a little lazy.  I like staying in bed longer than I should, coming in and sitting down when I could start a load of laundry, or saying I’m too tired to go to the gym, etc.  I just want to be productive.  I thrive off having some me/quiet time when I get home from work.  I know it’s okay to take that time for myself, but I don’t need to overdue it.  I will feel better if I stay on top of things!

Lastly, I want to focus more on this little blog.  I want to write more posts and see where this blog can take me!

I want to leave you with my church’s verse/theme of the year.  We are really focusing on it right now, and it’s a great reminder of how to live daily.

image-1

via YouVersion Bible App

I hope your 2017 has started off well!  Many blessings to you in this new year!

XOXO, Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

